Founded in 1555 as a men’s college, St John’s has been coeducational since 1979. It is the wealthiest college in Oxford, with an endowment of £551 million (as of 2018). This is largely due to 19th century suburban development of the college’s land in the city.
The college chapel, built in 1530, is one of its many notable structures. It was originally dedicated to St Bernard of Clairvaux, but in 1557 it was re-dedicated to St John the Baptist. In 1840 the chapel’s interior underwent major changes which created the gothic revival pews, and the wall arcading and west screen. A number of famous individuals are buried beneath the chapel including Thomas White, William Laud and William Juxon. All three were presidents of the college, with the latter two also holding the role of Archbishop of Canterbury.
Find out more about St John’s College on our Oxford University & City Tour!
Oxford Train Station
High Street Bus Stop T3, T3, L3, L1, L2, T1, T2
Broad Street Car Park, 52 Broad St, Oxford OX1 3BS
You can find out more information of this site, and some of the most iconic sites in the city, on our Oxford University Walking Tour!
For more information, click here